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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE MEDICINE 

IN VIRGINIA FOR GRADUATES OF ALLOPATHIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS AND 

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS 
 

 APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE  
BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY! 

 

NOTE 
AN APPLICATION THAT IS NOT COMPLETE EXPIRES ONE YEAR AFTER IT IS SUBMITTED 

TO THE BOARD. IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT TO ENSURE THAT ALL 

NECESSARY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARRIVE AT THE BOARD PRIOR TO THE 

EXPIRATION DATE. IF THE ORIGINAL APPLICATION EXPIRES, THE APPLICANT MUST 

SUBMIT ANOTHER APPLICATION, PAY THE APPLICATION FEE AGAIN AND ENSURE 

THAT NEW SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ALSO GET TO THE BOARD. 
 

This is not the application for a training license to practice as a resident or fellow. 

This application is for a full and unrestricted MD or DO license to practice medicine 

in Virginia. 

This is the application for a full and unrestricted license to practice as an MD or DO in Virginia. 

 

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a full license by reviewing the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of allopathic medicine and osteopathic medicine in Virginia. They can 

be found at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Medicine/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/ 
 

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an application with 

the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which the Board has no control. It 

is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that outside entities send the necessary documentation to the 

Board. You should not expect the process to take less than 2-3 months, so plan accordingly if you are 

pursuing a practice position in Virginia. 

 

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your application. You should 

allow approximately 10 business days for your application checklist to be first updated on the Board’s 

website. 

 

Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as it is received. Processing of documents may 

take up to 15 business days after they are received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not 

indicate necessary documents have been received, MD applicants can e-mail the Board at md-

medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, with“MD Application Question” in the subject line. DO applicants can send an email 

to the board at do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov . E-mails will be answered within 2 business days. 
 

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on the “View 

Checklist” link located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be visible for applicants who 

have not yet paid the application fee. If you have submitted your application and required fee online, but no 

longer see your checklist listed in the Pending Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the 

Board. Before calling the Board, please visit https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index to view your 

newly issued license. This website is primary source license verification that meets the Joint Commission’s 

requirements for license verification. If you need technical assistance with your checklist, 
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contact the agency’s helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding 

information about your documents. 

 

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be purged after 3 

months. 

 

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to be a Class 

1 misdemeanor. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your facts and provide 

full responses to the Board’s questions. 

 
 

Certain forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426. The phone number to the Virginia Board of Medicine is 804- 

367-4600. 

 

Mailing Address 

Virginia Board of Medicine 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

 

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND 

ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD’S PROCESSES. 

1. Complete the online application at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/, which includes 

paying the nonrefundable application fee of $302.00. Application fees may only be paid using Visa, 

MasterCard, Discover or American Express. Applications submitted without the application fee will 

not be processed. 

 

2.  Examination Scores – If you took all three steps of the USMLE examination or the FLEX 

examination, contact the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) at (817) 868-4000 or 

www.fsmb.org to have your scores submitted to the Board. Scores SHOULD NOT be faxed and 

MUST come directly from the FSMB. If using the FCVS credentialing service, scores will be 

included. 

 

If you took the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examinations or the COMLEX you may 

request copies of your at http://www.nbome.org/transcript-request.asp or by calling (866)479-6828. 

Scores SHOULD NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the National Board. If using the 

FCVS credentialing service, scores will be included. 

 

If you took the National Board of Medical Examiners or a combination of the USMLE 

examination, contact the National Board of Medical Examiners at (215) 590-9500 or www.nbme.org 

to have your scores submitted to the Board. Scores SHOULD NOT be faxed and MUST come directly 

from the National Board. If using the FCVS credentialing service, scores will be included. 

 

If you took the LMCC examination, contact the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) at (613) 521- 

6012. Scores SHOULD NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the LMCC. If using the FCVS 

credentialing service, scores will be included. 

 

If you took a state examination, contact the state agency or licensure board to have your scores 

submitted to the Board. Scores SHOULD NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the agency 

maintaining your score. If using the FCVS credentialing service, scores will be included. 
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3. Transcripts – Official medical school transcripts must be received by the Virginia Board of 

Medicine. Medical school transcripts must be official and bear the school seal. Transcripts will only 

be accepted if they come directly from the medical school to the Board. If using the FCVS 

credentialing service, transcripts will be included. If using the FCVS credentialing service, 

transcripts will be included. MD official school transcript can be emailed directly by the school 

to md-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov . DO official school transcript can be emailed directly by the 

school to do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov . 
 

4. Postgraduate Training - A completion certificate or program director’s letter of completion must be 

received directly from the postgraduate training institution for the internships, residencies, and 

fellowships completed within the past 5 years. If your postgraduate training occurred more than 5 

years ago, you may fulfill this requirement by sending a copy of your letter or certificate of 

completion. A PDF attachment of the letter of completion or copy of certificate may be emailed to 

md-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov , faxed to (804) 527-4426, or mailed to the Board. DO postgraduate 

training verification can be emailed to do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov 
 
 

5. Employment Activity – List all activities from the date of graduation from your professional school 

including but not limited to internships, employment, affiliations, periods of non-activity or 

unemployment, observerships, and volunteer service in the “Employment Activity” section of the 

application beginning with your first activity following professional school graduation. If you are 

employed by a group practice or locum tenens/traveler company, please list all locations where you 

have provided service or held privileges. If more space is needed to record your activities, follow this 

link to obtain and submit a supplemental form with your application: 
 

Supplemental Form: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/med/forms/SupplementalForm.pdf 
 

6. Verification of professional licenses from a jurisdiction within the United States, its territories and 

possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board. 

Please contact the jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice medicine to 

inquire about having official license verification forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

Verification must come from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email to md-

medbd@dhp.virginia.gov faxed to (804) 527-4426, or mailed. DO license verification can be emailed 

to do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov 

 

7. NPDB Self Query - Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form at 

https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/. Be ready to provide: 

o Identifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number 

o State health care license information (if you are licensed) 

o Credit or debit card information for the $4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request) 

 

Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a 

paper form and having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order. 

 

Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper 

copy of your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail. 

 

Please note that the Board will accept a digitally-certified electronic copy of the NPDB report 

that is emailed to the Board, in lieu of a mailed report. 
 

Should you choose to mail your report, when you receive your report in the mail from NPDB, DO 

NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to 

the Virginia Board of Medicine. The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking 

purposes. 
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The Board of Medicine is unable to track any mail or other package that is sent via the United 

States Postal Service. Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 6 

months of receipt of the NPDB report will have to be resubmitted. 

8. For graduates of medical schools outside of the U.S. and Canada. – ECFMG, a member of 

Intealth, Certification: To request a verification of your ECFMG Certification Status Report follow 

this link https://cvsonline2.ecfmg.org/ . The ECFMG will send your certification report to the Board. 
 

9. Provide a copy of documentation supporting any name change. 

 
10. If you answer “yes” to any question in #6-18, provide supporting documentation to the Board in addition 

to providing a narrative to explain your answer. Please provide court documentation and final 

disposition for any lawsuits or convictions. 
 

PLEASE NOTE: 

 
*Please be aware that consistent with Virginia law and the mission of the Department of Health 

Professions, public addresses on file with the Board of Medicine are made available to the public. 

The Board address noted on your application may be different from the public address and is not 

released to the public. This notice is to reiterate that the Board of Medicine will allow the Board 

address of record to be a Post Office Box or practice location. 

 

*Applications will be acknowledged after receipt if items are missing. 

*Applications not completed within 12 months will expire and may be purged without 

notice from the board. 

*Additional information may be requested after review by Board representatives. 
 

 *Application fees are non-refundable.  

 
* Do not begin practice until you have been notified of approval. Submission of an application 

does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding that you 

may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations. 
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