

Phone: (804) 367-4600 Fax: (804) 527-4426 Email: <u>do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>

## APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT DOCTOR OF MEDICINE (MD) AND DOCTOR OF OSTEOPATHY (DO)

These instructions are only for licenses in an expired status for over TWO years. Do not complete a reinstatement application if your license has been expired for less than TWO years, or if you are trying to <u>reactivate a license from</u> <u>inactive status</u>.

- Familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a full license by reviewing the <u>Laws and</u> <u>Regulations</u> governing the practice as a Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- 2. Reinstatement application fees are nonrefundable. Your application is NOT processed until the fee is paid.
- 3. The application fee for reinstatement of an MD or DO license is \$497.00.
- 4. Applications EXPIRE 180 days from submission if they are not completed. You must ensure all required supporting documentation is submitted to the Board before the expiration date. If your application expires, you are required to start the process over by submitting a new application and paying the fee again.
- 5. <u>National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)</u> self-query reports expire within six (6) months of receipt and must be resubmitted if you do not complete your overall application within that timeframe.
- 6. When possible, submit your documents electronically. Some forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426 and are indicated as such. If you must mail your documents to the Board, you are encouraged to send them via FedEx or UPS so you can track their delivery. The Board is unable to track documents delivered via USPS.
- 7. The Board does not accept supporting documents that are copied after they are notarized. Notarized supporting documents should be sent directly from the program office or school to the Board via mail or hand delivery.
- 8. The Board requires an address of record by which it can communicate with its licensees. The Board must release to the public an address for a licensee. If you do not wish your address of record to be released to the public, you may submit an alternative address. The Board of Medicine allows the address of record to be a Post Office Box or practice location.
- 9. The Board processes applications efficiently, but licensing time depends on external entities, so plan accordingly. Applicants must ensure all required documentation is sent to the Board.
- 10. **Do not begin practice until you are notified of reinstatement approval**. Submission of an application does not guarantee a reinstated license. A review of your application could result in the finding that you are not eligible for reinstatement pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations. Additional information may be requested after review by the Board.

## CHECKLIST FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

CHECK MARK	REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION	SUBMISSIO N METHOD
	1. APPLICATION AND FEE	
	Complete the application and submit the non-refundable fee.	ONLINE
	Many application components require additional desumantation, nated when	
	Many application components require additional documentation, noted when	
	applicable. Failure to provide necessary documentation impedes progress, and it is the applicant's responsibility to submit all required supporting documentation.	
	the applicant's responsibility to submit an required supporting documentation.	
	2. EMPLOYMENT ACTIVITY	
	List all hospitals, clinics, doctor's offices, and all other facilities where you practiced or	ONLINE
	held privileges since your Virginia license expired.	
	1. If you have not engaged in active practice for more than four (4) years and wish to	
	reinstate or reactivate your license, the Board may require you to pass one of the	
	following examinations. For the purpose of determining active practice, the	
	practitioner shall provide evidence of at least 640 hours of clinical practice within	
	the four (4) years immediately preceding his application for reinstatement or	
	reactivation.	
	1. The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) given by the Federation of State	
	Medical Boards; or	
	2. The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable Purpose Examination—	
	USA (COMVEX-USA) given by the National Board of Osteopathic Examiners.	
	2. For applicants practicing as locum tenens physicians, or if you are practicing	
	telemedicine, have the company you are affiliated with provide a complete list of	
	all locations and dates where you provided service.	
	3. PROFESSIONAL LICENSE VERIFICATION	
	Request verification of a license to practice medicine from a jurisdiction within the United	MAIL, FAX, OR
	States, its territories and possessions, or Canada.	EMAIL
	1. Contact the applicable jurisdiction where you were issued this license to request	DIRECTLY
	verification of your license. This verification must come directly from the	FROM
	jurisdiction and can be emailed to md-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov or do-	SOURCE
	medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426, or mailed to the address at	
	the top of this document.	
	2. Many medical boards use <u>Veridoc</u> to send their license verifications. Check with	
	Veridoc to see if your other state license board uses this service.	
	4. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK (NPDB) SELF-QUERY	
	Complete the online NPDB self-query form.	EMAIL OR
	1. The Board accepts digitally certified electronic copies of the NPDB self-query	MAIL SENT
	report that can be emailed to md-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov or do-	DIRECTLY
	medbd@dhp.virginia.gov.	<b>FROM NPDB</b>
	2. If you choose to have the NPDB report mailed to you instead, DO NOT OPEN IT	
	when you receive it. Place the unopened NPDB report in an oversize envelope	
	and mail it to the Virginia Board of Medicine.	

5. MALPRACTICE CLAIMS HISTORY	
If you have had any malpractice claims brought against you (pending or closed) since your license expired, provide a narrative of the clinical care provided for each case. This documentation can be mailed, faxed, or emailed to md-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov or do-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov.	MAIL, FAX, OR EMAIL
6. CONTINUING EDUCATION	
<ul> <li>Copies of certificates or documentation of completion of either Type I or Type II continuing medical education are required. Additional information addressing continued competency requirements are described under general regulations §18VAC 85-20-235 (A)(1)&amp;(2).</li> <li>1. Provide documentation of completed continuing medical education hours equal to the requirement for the number of years in which the license has lapsed. Acceptable continuing education hours are those completed within the past four (4) years prior to applying for license reinstatement.</li> <li>2. Use the following guidelines to determine the continuing medical education (CME) hours needed for reinstatement:</li> <li>1. If your license has been expired for 2 to 2.5 years, provide 60 hours of CME.</li> <li>3. If your license has been expired for 3 to 3.5 years, provide 90 hours of CME.</li> <li>4. If your license has been expired for 3.5 to 4 years, provide 105 hours of CME.</li> <li>5. If your license has been expired for 4 or more years, provide 120 hours of CME.</li> </ul>	MAIL, EMAIL, OR FAX
7. NAME CHANGE	
If applicable, provide copies of documentation of any name changes since the expiration of your Virginia license.	MAIL, EMAIL, OR FAX

## END OF INSTRUCTIONS.

PROCEED TO THE ONLINE APPLICATION.